Back to top


About EU

The European Union (EU) is a unique grouping of 28 independent countries with around 510.1 million citizens living within its boundaries. The 28 EU Member States consist of: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

The European Union (EU) and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) have a dynamic partnership in a number of areas, from political dialogue, cooperation in non-traditional security areas, trade and investment relations, connectivity, to cooperation in community building among ASEAN member states. The EU SHARE programme was formulated responding to ASEAN’s request as stipulated in ASEAN Five Year Work Plan on Education in the field of higher education.

Through the SHARE programme, EU will share its experience with the Bologna Process which was launched in 1999 by the Ministers of Education and university leaders of 29 countries. The Bologna Process is an important process of harmonising various higher education systems in Europe aiming at creating a European Higher Education Area (EHEA). Most of the Bologna action lines, such as quality assurance, student and staff mobility, the European dimension in higher education, the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) and the Diploma Supplement, have their origins in the EU-funded activities of the Erasmus+ programme.

Further information:

Mission of the European Union to ASEAN
Intiland Tower, 16th floor, Jl Jend Sudirman 32, Jakarta 10220 Indonesia
Tel: (62 21) 2554 6200; Fax: (62 21) 2554 6201

Delegation to Indonesia and Brunei Darussalam
Intiland Tower, 16th floor, Jl Jend Sudirman 32, Jakarta 10220 Indonesia
Tel: + 62 21 2554 6200, Fax: + 62 21 2554 6201


SHARE is a project of

SHARE is implemented by